The Daily: June 8th, 2021

Good afternoon my darlings.  I hope you are just having a fantastic day.  I have been blazing through my to do list today.  Items have been checked off right and left.  I took a little bit of a break to catch up with a friend I hadn’t spoken to in a while and found out she has a fabulous new job so many congrats sent out. I’m sure she is doing fabulously well with her first day.

So good news, good work flow and a generally good day for me.  As an added bonus, we have a break in the rain and while the creek does look close to bursting it’s banks, the walking trail was actually open, so I got to get a walk in before the heat and humidity became unbearable.

Not to tempt fate, but today has been a really good day.

As far as my makeup goes, I went a little E.L.F Tastic today. No there are no fake pointy ears.  I just took out some of my E.L.F makeup to use all at once.  The reason is quite simple.  E.L.F is having a major sale today.  60% off for loads of items. So I wanted to test out the products I have, see where my gaps were and decide what I wanted to purchase. So…

Today’s look:

Primer: ELF Putty Poreless Putty Primer

Foundation: ELF Acne Fighting Foundation

Bronzer: ELF Bronzer Turks Calcos (the label is damaged but I think that is what it says)

Blush: bareMinerals Bounce and Blur Blush

  • incidentally, bareMinerals also has LOADS of products on sale including their Loose Mineral Foundation, which was always my go to foundation in warmer months especially because it is so light weight as well as fabulous, and several of their Gen Nude Lips which I absolutely adore. I am currently loving the one in the shade Pout. This link will take you to their sale page.

Powder: ELF Perfect Finish HD powder (pressed)

Eyeshadow: ELF bite sized palette in Cream and Sugar

Mascara: Ciate London Triple Shot XXL Mascara

Lips: ELF Sheer Slick in Black Cherry

Okay I didn’t have an ELF Blush or Mascara so I chose what is rapidly becoming my favorite blush, the bareMinerals Bounce and Blur Blush.  It is super easy to blend and I can build it up or go light with it which I really enjoy.  I also don’t have an ELF Mascara at the moment so I picked up the Ciate. I like the Triple Shot Mascara although to be honest, for Ciate London I enjoy the Wonderwand just a little bit more.  At the moment it is hard to compare them as this is almost completely out.  The tube is making that sort of hollow sound that lets you know there isn’t much product left.  I may end up keeping this mascara out the rest of the week just to try to use it up actually.  It is a really good mascara, and I would definitely consider repurchasing it.  I just like the Wonderwand formula slightly better.

With the ELF Products, I really enjoy the putty primer.  I have a pretty deep divot in the center of this one and I am considering ordering a replacement as I know I will use it.  They just released an acne fighting version so I am torn as to whether or not to get it instead. I am currently using the Acne Fighting Foundation and it has been fantastic.  A little bit goes a long way, it has great coverage and looks fabulous.  When I knew I was going to have to wear a face mask for a long stretch of time, this is the foundation I chose as I had fewer maskne breakouts when I did. 

I am not a huge fan of the bronzer.  I don’t know if it is the formula or if I just have a shade that is too dark from my skin tone.  It is a highly pigmented bronzer so a very light hand is needed to use it.  I think I might enjoy a lighter shade so I may peruse the bronzers and see if I can come up with something more suitable to try out.  That would let me know if it is just the shade or if it is the formula.

The bite sized palettes I have waxed poetical about repeatedly.  Those and the Lip Sheer Slicks are items I have considered buying in the entire line.  The bite sized palettes are well thought out and easy to grab and put on in the morning with little thought, and they always look good.  The Sheer slicks have a tint of clor and really feel good on my lips.

So these are the items I used today.  I chose them because I wanted to think about the sale and what it was I wanted to order.  When looking I found some gaps, I found some favorites and I found a few new items.  Later I am going to put together a list and see what it actually is I want to order.  ELF products in general are very affordable but taking the affordable products and adding such a steep discount means that I can place a bigger order than I normally would.  I just needed to have a sit down and think about it.  Which will come at the end of the work day.  For now, I need to get back to work.  If you are thinking of taking advantage of this sale, I hope this helped you out. Happy Shopping.

60% off Clearance Sale! Starts June 8th and runs through June 18th, 2021

Leave a comment