Snack Time with Harvest Snaps Baked Red Lentil snacks Sour Cream and Onion Crunchy Loops

That’s right it is snack time once again. For me snack time is important. The right snack can keep me from overeating at dinner. It can also provide the thrill of having a treat.

Today the treat was all about the crunch. Somedays you just need to chomp down on something crunchy. And boy are these crunchy.

I picker up the Harvest Snaps Baked Red Lentil snacks crunchy Loops in sour cream and onion because I tried a harvest Snaps treat and really liked it. Those were the baked pea pod treats (various flavors, I’ve tried several and liked them all). So I decided to give the red lentils a try.

I knew from the bag they would be loops so I thought they would be like fried onion rings. Except baked. Which they sort of are. Somehow I expected them to be lighter and filled with air bubbles, which they aren’t. These are quite dense crunchy treats.

When opening the bag, the scent is very sour cream and onion potato chip. It is a very familiar scent. I was expecting them to taste a bit like Sour cream and onion potato chips because of the scent. They don’t, not really.

There is the onion powder flavor but then somehow with the red lentils and whatever provides the sour cream scent blending, it tastes kind of buttery. It is a very oniony and buttery extra crispy snack. I really enjoyed the buttery flavor once i got over the surprise. I found them quite delicious and as far as satisfying crunch goes, these are kind of aces.

The bag holds three and a half servings. Each serving is 22 loops and has 130 calories. That pile there is 22 loops measured out, which seems like quite the substantial serving. By the time I made my way through them my urge to crunch was satiated.

I really enjoyed these Red lentil Crunchy Loops from Harvest snap. My one complaint has to be with the bag. They have three and a half servings in them but there is no way to reseal the bag when you have taken your portion out You have to roll the bag down and find a clip or a clothes’ pin or something to keep it closed. It is a little thing, but it does kind of annoy me. It is the sort of thing that gets left off of a bag because the manufacturers expect you to eat the entire bag in one sitting regardless of the serving size on the back.

Which I have to admit, is very easy to do. Once it is open it looks like it should be a single serving because it isn’t designed to be closed again. Since my continuing diet and exercise plan requires me to look at the nutrition labels it was clear to see. A portion size is enough for me, I just have to remember not to eat from the bag. It would be far to easy to just gobble the entire bag in one sitting.

Other than that minor packaging annoyance, these are a fins snack and one I will indulge in again, especially when I am in the mood for a really great crunch.



Leave a comment