Wake Up Beautiful, A review

Wake Up Beautiful a sleep mask from Pacifica

I am a sucker for a good night cream and I adore sleep masks.  I love being able to apply a layer of skin care to my face at night, go to sleep and wake up feeling as though my skin was pampered while I slept. Like an invasion of magical skin care elves hit my place in the night. I also like to slather my feet with cream before bed in the hopes that my callouses will magically disappear in the night, but that is a different story.

For the past month I have been using the Pacifica Wake up Beautiful Sleep Hydration Sleepover Mask.  It was gifted to me by Pacifica, a fact I appreciate. For those who don’t know, Pacifica is both Vegan and cruelty free.  On the product page for the Sleepover Mask…

Good morning, sunshine! Supercharge your bedtime and wake up beautiful every day. Essential lipids, antioxidants and natural extracts help revive and hydrate. A no-rinse, non-greasy, non-sticky mask with aromatherapeutic benefits for relaxation.100% Vegan and Cruelty-Free, Formulated without: animal testing, animal ingredients, parabens, phthalates, mineral oil, sulfates, synthetic fragrance and petroleum, Smells like geranium and rose absolute, it’s a creamy mask to help replenish and quench thirsty, stressed, or sun damaged skin.

All in all not a terribly long list of promises, which I like. I distrust when product promise the moon, unless there is a whole list of documented science behind it that they are willing to share. Although I’m betting such science would be proprietary and never shared with anyone. I am a big fan of reasonable claims.  I also appreciate the lack of petroleum and extra fragrances.  I don’t mind scent in my skin care, I just prefer it come naturally rather than have it be something that was added just to have it added. If it is in my skin care I want there to be a point to it being there.

Now even though the full size is 2 fl. Ounces or 59 ml, I received the travel size which comes in at 1 fl. Ounce or 29 ml. The full size retails for $14.99 at Target should you be interested, although I believe Pacifica is currently having a sale so their official website might give you a better deal. You can also use my code MIMSY15 if you are so inclined (I don’t get anything if you use the code, it is just a discount for you, although I think their current deal is 15% off everything on their site anyway, so either way you win. Not sure if you can add those two discounts together but it wouldn’t hurt to try.)

Free gifts on all orders over $25. Only at Pacifica Beauty!

Also as I started gathering a lot of travel sized products because I had a series of trips planned for this spring and summer, I will be working my way through a bunch of them so that I can clear out some space. For most of them, especially skin care, I would rather use them now and then repurchase when travel is back on the schedule. Plus despite their small size, travel products take up a lot of space when sitting in the drawer. At the moment though my bathroom looks as though it was attacked with a shrink ray. But I digress.

I didn’t use the mask every night.  I used it Monday, Wednesday and Friday nights for the month I used it. This wasn’t an attempt to make it last longer, I simply don’t use a night cream every night.  While I love night creams and sleep masks, I find if I use them every night, then it is just a little too much for my skin, so I go the MWF route with them unless something shakes up my routine.

Using this system, not only did the cream last a full month, but I have just enough left for one more week.  I know usually with skin care products I weigh them at the start and then at the end of the two week trial.  I didn’t weigh this one as I thought as a travel size I would use it for two weeks and then it would be done.  It surprised me and lasted longer than I expected.  As it is half the size of the full sized product I would say the full 2 ounce size would last about two and a half months (10 weeks), at least by my usage.

Needless to say, not a lot of this product is needed to cover the face and neck. Just a small pea sized amount will do. It is thick and very saturating. While the product claims to have a geranium and rose absolute scent, it is a very mild scent.  I can smell it if I put my nose up to the opening in the squeeze tube but once dispensed, the scent dissipates really quickly.  Even then the scent is just lightly floral in the tube. If you are extremely sensitive to scents it might bother you, but otherwise the scent is really not much of an issue.

not much product is needed

The cream is a plain white cream that applies easily to the skin.  If you apply it and then wait about five minutes before laying down, there isn’t a problem with the cream transferring you your pillow.  It just needs a couple of minutes to sink in.  I found my skin felt like it still had something on it, but it didn’t transfer to my pillow if I waited those five minutes. As I like to read before bed, I just applied it before I settled in with my book and I was fine. 

The sleepover mask did provide a nice hydration, and it didn’t break me out or cause clogged pores, which is always a plus in my book. I have to say where it shines the most was on the nights after I received a little too much sun that day. 

In early spring I always end up getting some form of sunburn.  Not only is my skin winter pale and susceptible to burn, but the temperatures are still cool enough that I forget the sun is still strong.  Applying the cream on those nights soothed the itchy, too much sun feeling I get from sunburn and calmed the skin.  I also didn’t peel as I usually do.  I’m guessing that is from the extra hydration added by the cream. It was only a mild burn, I wouldn’t use it on a major one, but It worked really well on too much sun skin (especially across the nose) as it claims in its product description.

100 percent vegan and cruelty free. Shop now at PacificaBeauty.com!

I really liked using this as a night cream/ sleep mask and I will use up the last of it this week.  I think I will also pick up another tube of this to have on hand as we move from spring and into summer.  I don’t burn a lot and I use an SPF when I am outside, but my time working in the garden is starting to increase and I will admit I have a tendency to forget my skin and stay out working in the yard until whatever task I’ve set myself is done.  Having something I can trust to give my skin a bit of a helping hand after I’ve spent too long outside is, in my opinion, a very good idea.  So two thumbs up for the Wake Up Beautiful Sleep Hydration Sleepover Mask from Pacifica and a definite placement on my to be repurchased list.


Pacifica Beauty

Leave a comment