It’s the Friday Face Mask with Wander Beauty’s Staycation

Today I decided a little hydration was in order. Partially because my skin felt dry and partially because I have been using a lot of exfoliation type products lately. And let’s face it, when you exfoliate, having a hit of moisture right after really helps out your skin.

Or at least it does mine. In general this is why shortly after using an exfoliator i end up adding a moisturizer on to my skin. I do let my skin wait just a little bit so that I can enjoy that freshly scrubbed feeling, but then i have to admit i love the feeling of my freshly exfoliated skin just drinking in the moisture.

I know, I really just love skincare.

clean skin pre mask

Today my skin needed some moisture so I decided it was the perfect time for a Staycation with Wander Beauty. According to the website The Staycation Hydrating mask will…

Book the ultimate hydration Staycation with our intensely moisturizing 3-in-1 soothing mask, daily moisturizer and overnight skin-quenching treatment.

Ceramide NP is known to help protect skin’s natural barrier, keeping skin irritants such as pollution out. The result is healthier, more supple skin. Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 diminishes fine lines and wrinkles by relaxing facial muscles, making signs of aging less prominent.

Butterfly pea flower extract is known to have anti-glycation properties which help keep skin looking youthful. Cranberry seed oil delivers potent antioxidant benefits and helps lock in moisture.

Wander Beauty

Now normally I leave the mask description at that, however there is an additional list of benefits below that. And you know I love a list.

7-in-1 Multitasking Mask

  1. Soothing rinse-off mask for instant hydration
  2. Daily nourishing moisturizer
  3. Overnight intensely hydrating mask
  4. Helps improve skin texture and prevent moisture loss with powerful ceramide and peptide combination
  5. Helps protect skin’s natural barrier with Ceramide NP
  6. Diminished fine lines and wrinkles with Acetyl Hexapeptide-8
  7. Suitable for all skin types
mask on

Most of the list was detailed above, but I can’t resist a list of claims. I love that it is suitable for all skin types and that the list points out what each of the specified ingredients accomplishes. I find the fact that it can be used as a regular fifteen minute face mask as well as an over night mask fantastic. Sometimes when the weather flip flops I find it especially fantastic to sleep in a moisturizing mask. we are in the season where sometimes our air conditioner will kick on because the house is to warm but other nights the heat will still start up because temps dropped unexpectedly. A moisturizing mask over night is sort of like skin protection regardless of what the central forced air system decides to do when I am not paying attention.

after fifteen minutes

I find it interesting that when used in a small amount it can also be used as a daily moisturizer. When dispensing it for the first time, it is not surprising that it can be used as a moisturizer. It has the consistency of a thicker gel cream. The thickness of it makes me think it wouldn’t be bad as an over night mask either.

However today, we are testing this for the first time as a fifteen minute mask. Application was easy. I took the amount you see dispensed on my hands, rubbed my hands together and massaged it into my skin. I then rinsed my hands, set the timer and lay back for fifteen minutes.

post mask fabulous

I half expected the mask to melt and drip because t reminded me of a moisturizer. It did not. The Staycation mask stayed where I put it. Leaving me free to lay back, close my eyes and realize that I will soon need to order candles. I have winter scents and I have summer scents. In the spring I tend to use up the winter scented candles while I plan my summer candle purchases and then as they start to run out I will inevitable find a cinnamon or cardamom scented something at the store that will remind me to order winter scented candles. It will also remind me to restock my baking spices. With the weather so wonky this year I haven’t even gotten around to looking at summer scents. I suppose it is off to the Paddywax site later tonight then.

But for now, there is the mask. After fifteen minutes of speculating about citrus versus sea side scented candles, I got up and went to wash off the mask. Most of the mask absorbed into my skin, which is pretty typical of hydrating masks, They absorb in and, well hydrate. The fact that there was only a little left on my skin meant that I had more or lass applied the right amount of mask to my skin.

what remained rinsed off easily with warm water. I patted my skin dry and then took a look. There probably isn’t much visible difference in the photos, but my skin does feel quite nicely hydrated without feeling greasy. In fact my skin feels quite fabulous. And the few dry spots I noticed earlier are gone. Those were the spots where there was very little to any mask left over on my skin. So I guess we all know why they are no longer dry.

I really enjoyed this Wander Beauty Staycation Mask as a fifteen minute face mask. It wa my first use of the product but it won’t be my last. I will certainly use it as a fifteen minute mask again and I can’t wait to try it out as an overnight mask as well as a possible moisturizer. If it works as all three, there is the distinct possibility that a tube of this will be added to my travel kit to take the place of several products. It may be a Staycation mask, but there is no reason it can’t be taken on the road. Especially since travel always dries me out. Stay tuned my darlings, there will be more tests to come.

Wander Beauty

1 Comment

Leave a comment