The Daily: August 25th, 2021

Good afternoon my darlings and I hope you are doing fantastic today. This morning I replaced my walk with some work in the garden. Pulling up spent plants may not be as calorie burning as a full on walk, but it needed to be done. And when working outside right now the only time the heat and humidity is bearable happens to be the time I usually take my walk.

I know, not a mega surprise reveal on that one. It actually amazed me how many small cucumbers were lurking beneath shriveled leaves. The biggest are the size of golf balls but sliced and mixed with a little diced onion, a little vinegar and a little sugar and left in the fridge until dinner time, they will be perfect for a quick side salad tonight. Tonight we are having bean burgers They will end up being lightly grilled on the grill pan in the kitchen because it is actually far too hot to fire up the grill in the back yard. The cucumber onion side salad will go well with it.

It’s light and the last of the summer veg won’t go to waste.

I managed to get the spend plants up and into the compost and to spread down some nutrient rich dirt on top in a thick layer. In a few days I’ll make sure it is all mixed up and then add in the seeds to grow over the fall and winter. The back bed already has small little rutabaga sprouts coming up as the plants there finished early. If you are looking for fall planting guides or seeds, you might want to check out Botanical Interests. They have a lot of really good advice for planning gardens of all sizes (as well as a really good variety of seeds). Their information is fantastic if you are just beginning to garden.

I don’t think the calorie burn is exactly equal to a walk, but i was drenched by the time I finished my morning garden chores, so I am considering that at least a half way decent workout. This morning I didn’t even use the hot water when I went to wash off. The cold water just felt so good I couldn’t make my hand reach for the hot water tap.

I’m going to call that energy saving.

Today’s Look:

Foundation: NYX Professional Makeup Bare With Me Tinted Skin Veil

Bronzer: Too Faced Chocolate Gold Soleil

Blush and Highlight: Doucce Posh Powder Palette

Powder: No 7 Perfect Light Pressed Powder

Mascara: Florence by Mills Mascara in Black

Lips: KAB Hydrating Lip oil

Setting Spray Farsali Rose Gold Face Mist

I know, you look at the list and gasp, Mimsy, there is no primer on there! I know, me without primer. Practically unheard of. Often times I will use primer and skip foundation. With the NYX Bare with me Tinted Skin Veil though I tend to like it better without a primer underneath. It is just a super light barely there look. Which quite honestly I was in the mood for today.

Plus i wanted to try the Florence by Mills Mascara with a low makeup look to see how I felt about it. When I tried it with bright shadows on my lids, the mascara disappeared into nothing. Today, I dusted a little but of bronzer and a dash of highlight on my lids and called that shadow for the day. I figured it was enough to add a bit of contrast to the lids and allow the lashes to shine.

They didn’t.

This mascara is a very basic mascara. It darkens the lashes. That’s about it. There is no length, no volume. And while it is okay on a low to no makeup day, any color on the lids and the lashes are lost. If you are using this as the mascara on your lashes before you put on false lashes, then perhaps you would like it. If you are looking for just a darkening of the lashes in an otherwise natural look, then yeah, this could work for you. For me, I’m not a fan. I will continue to use it in rotation since it is open and I hate waste, but it will only really be used when I am going low key, like today. It isn’t my favorite formula.

The Doucce Posh Powder Palette is one that I will also keep for low key makeup days. The formulas are buildable rather than highly pigmented. So when I am using something like the NYX Bare with Me, it works really well. It lets me get a light blush rather than having clown cheeks.

this is my third day with the lip oil and While I used it over a nude lip yesterday and thought it might have some color to it, today I used it over my bare lips. My lips did have some foundation product over them though. I don’t think this lip oil has a tint now. I think the oil gloss of it simply enhances whatever is beneath the oil, like a magnifier. It does change the tone a little but I think it is more through the shifting of the light than actual color in the oil. (I know our perception of color is only really based on the wave lengths of light and so on, but you get what I mean, hopefully). Although to be honest, it very well might have a light tint. I can’t quite figure it out. I keep going back and forth on my opinion of color. I will say that as I have used it this week, the scent has changed. When I first opened it the melon was the top note with a sort of tropical, coconut undertone. Now it is reversed. when i open it I now smell Coconut with a light melon scent as an after note. To be honest, the oil itself is okay. I have better lip oils. What i love though is the shape of the doe foot applicator. The dip in the tip of the doe foot really cups the lip during application and makes the product apply smoothly. In all honesty it is the applicator that will keep me using this product. the oil is okay but not great. the applicator, I like.

I probably didn’t need a setting spray today, but I am slowly but surely using up the Farsali Rose Gold Face Mist. It is an okay setting spray but not my favorite. It is pretty to look at and looks nice sitting out on the dressing table, but I just don’t like the scent. and it has been lingering in my collection for too long. So I am trying to use it up. I’m getting so close too. I was hoping to finish it before the end of August, but I think it will be with me through the first week or so of September. It is a bit of a shame though. the bottle is lovely and the spray of the mist is quite good. There is a part of me that wants to see if I can take the mist from another setting spray whose dispenser I don’t like and put it into this bottle to use. But that is an experiment that will have to wait until the Farsali bottle is empty. Soon…soon… and then the home recycling experiment can commence. But for now, we wait. and use the spray.

And that is it for me today. It was a pretty basic day. Morning gardening/sweatfest followed by shower light makeup and working at my desk. It is a quiet, yet productive day, and quite fraknly, I’m rather pleased with that.

There are a few pre labor day sales going on that you might want to check out.

25% Off Select Textured Haircare (SheaMoisture, The Mane Choice, Curls, Mielle, TGIN, The Doux, Eden Bodyworks, Rucker Roots)

Benefit Cosmetics LLC

Leave a comment